The basis for any successful relationship is the ability to understand the exact expectations of the other person. You may think you have asked someone for help, but that may not be understood by the people you approach. Be specific about the type of referrals and recommendations you are hoping to obtain as well as what you might be able to do for them. A one-way relationship without communication is never a success either in your personal life or job search.

Avoid the following Actions:

Action: Making negative remarks

Impact: They may hesitate to refer you if you are negative

Action: Having a depressed attitude

Impact: They may question your confidence

Action: Asking if they know of any job openings

Impact: Limits places to just those with openings

Action: Is their company hiring

Impact: Answer is probably “no”

Action: Willingness to do any job, anytime, at any salary

Impact: It may sound desperate

Instead, ask if they will refer or recommend you to anyone who is:

• Well connected

• In a position of influence

• Well networked

• In the field you are pursuing

You want them to realize you don’t expect them to find a job for you, just open their network to you. They all have the capabilities of opening doors for you and you never know which one of those doors will end up in a job offer.

In return, ask what you can do for them. You can’t just reach out to your network asking for a favor, you must be willing to do what you can do for them as well. The more you GIVE in a networking relationship, the more you will receive.

FREE JOB SEEKER TRAINING WEBINARS 

Timing is Everything in a Job Search 

Thursday, October 25th @ 11:00 am EST (8:00 am PST, 9:00 am MST, 10:00 am CST)

During your job search, it’s all about timing, timing, timing! When you hear NO, it probably just meant “NOT NOW, but maybe later!” Timing is either your best friend or worst enemy when you’re in a job search. During this session, you will learn the following:

The impact of timing on your job search

Why thorough research of companies and your contact is critical to your success

Is it Time to Consider a New Career? 

Tuesday, October 30th @ 12:00 pm EST (9:00 am PST, 10:00 am MST, 11:00 am CST)

If you’re not achieving results in your job search, it could be time to consider new targets or a new career. During this session, we will address the following:

New Career Resources

Job Shadowing Options in the workplace

People in the Know

Realistic Expectations

RESUME SERVICES

If you need help with your resume – Check out our Resume Services:

URL: www.careercoachusa.com/improve.php

Username: (User Name you selected upon registration)

Password: (Password you selected upon registration)

DID YOU KNOW?

If you’ve landed a new job we’d love to hear about it! Let us know: support@careersupportnetwork.com

We take our direction from you! If you have any ideas you would like to share with us, please contact us.

SUPPORT

We are here to answer your Career Portal questions! Simply email support@careersupportnetwork.com

It’s important to understand that when you submit a question or technical issue that you are as descriptive as possible. The more detail you provide, the quicker you will get an accurate response.

To Your Successful Career Search,

Staffing One, Inc.

Visit us online!