Six Tips to Revive Your Job Search

Whether you are a recent college grad or seasoned professional, looking for a new job is a stressful process. Unfortunately, your job search will almost always take more time than you anticipated. 

The following tips will help escalate your efforts:

Tip #1 – Identify your skill sets and talents

Rather than searching for job titles that fit your career goals, look at the required skills of a position. You’ll be able to identify the skill sets you already possess and the jobs that best match your experience.

Tip #2 – Utilize online resources, company websites and Google Alerts

Utilize job boards and website postings to not only search for a specific position, but to also look for similar jobs or suggested jobs that would interest you. Set up Google Alerts for every company you’re targeting as well as every hiring authority.

Tip #3 – Narrow down your search to your “best” options

Rather an apply to all openings you find, only apply to positions that fit your skills, experience and career goals. Also research the company to get a sense of its values and why employees do or don’t like working there. Review your own network to see if you’re connected to someone who has experience at the company and can share their perspective.

Tip #4 – Customize your resume or CV to match each position

Tailor you resume or CV so that it matches each specific job you are targeting to give yourself a competitive edge over general resumes.

Tip #5 – Prepare better than your competition for your interview

Before your interview conduct thorough research on the company, the contact and the products or services offered by this company. Practice answering typical and difficult interview questions. Lastly, prepare how you will show a high level of confidence and interest in the job.

Tip #6 – Ask the best questions

Ask questions that reveal the priorities of each person involved in the hiring process. Let each person talk about themselves and they will like you more.

Implement these six tips and follow up stronger than your competition and you will land your dream job in 2019!

FREE JOB SEEKER TRAINING WEBINARS FOR JANUARY:

Be a “Standout” During Your Job Search

Wednesday, January 9th @ 2:00 pm EST (11:00 am PST, 12:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm CST)

How do you capture the attention of hiring authorities, when most of them are hiding behind automated systems that screen out your resume? How do you talk to someone, when all you get is voicemail? During this session, you will learn the following:

What is Important in a job search

The commitment it takes to land a new job

Innovative marketing techniques to improve your results

Research Salary Before You Apply

Tuesday, January 15th @ 11:00 am EST (8:00 am PST, 9:00 am MST, 10:00 am CST)

Salary may not be the only thing you consider when looking for a new job, but it is always a consideration. You don’t want to waste your time or the company’s time, if the salary is not what you need to earn. During this session we will address how to do the following:

Research salary levels

Determine the compensation package you will accept

Understand the impact of location on the spending power of a salary offered

What are Realistic Expectations?

Thursday, January 24th @ 2:00 pm EST (11:00 am PST, 12:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm CST)

Have you ever wondered “What is the new normal” in a Job Search? Often a Job Search takes much longer than expected and you can often sabotage your job search efforts. During this session, we will discuss the following:

Unrealistic expectations

Realistic expectations

How important is Job Security?

Stay Motivated

Wednesday, January 30th @ 3:00 pm EST (12:00 pm PST, 1:00 pm MST, 2:00 pm CST)

Your attitude can make or break your job search. The people you surround yourself will also have a great impact on the results you achieve. During this session, we will address the following:

How to limit noise in your life (even from family members)

Why someone’s opinion isn’t your reality

How to stay motivated throughout your search

Our training webinars have had such a positive impact on those who attend, so we want YOU on the calls too! 

Your Login Information is:

URL: www.careercoachusa.com

Username: User Name you selected upon registration

Password: (password you selected upon registration)

In the future, you may register for the Training in our Career Portal by clicking on the WEBINAR Tab. Then click on the event and register by clicking the webinar registration link for each event listed.

RESUME SERVICES

If you need help with your resume – Check out our Resume Services: 

URL: www.careercoachusa.com/improve.php

Username: User Name you selected upon registration

Password: (password you selected upon registration)

DID YOU KNOW?

If you’ve landed a new job, we’d love to hear about it! Let us know: support@careersupportnetwork.com

We take our direction from you! If you have any ideas you would like to share with us, please contact us. 

SUPPORT

We are here to answer your Career Portal questions! Simply email support@careersupportnetwork.com

It’s important to understand that when you submit a question or technical issue that you are as descriptive as possible. The more detail you provide, the quicker you will get an accurate response.

To Your Successful Career Search,

Staffing One, Inc.

Visit us online! 

www.careercoachusa.com